Workshop: The Seven Basic Plots-Tragedy

After the insightful and exciting workshop on book making and illustration delivered by Sarah Edmunds, we began to broaden our minds to books we already know and love so dearly. Using Christopher Booker’s theory of The Seven Basic Plots, we categorised famous books and films, proving his theory quite correct and struggling to find any anomalies.

These Seven Plots consist of:

  • Overcoming the Monster
  • Rags to Riches
  • The Quest
  • Voyage and Return
  • Comedy
  • Tragedy
  • Rebirth

After finding a love for the genre of tragedy and in particular, Wuthering Heights thanks to my studies last year, I decided to pursue this tragic love story through further workshops. I selected the important and iconic scenes of the book and illustrated them using basic imagery on a sheet of A2 paper, originally hiding the title in the hope that people may detect the story using just the imagery and quotations I provided.


A task completed in a small amount of time with very little planning, I am not particularly happy with the outcome of this, and know I could have achieved much more with more time for planning and execution. However, my book of choice was detectable by those familiar with it and for this I am proud of my efforts.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s