Workshop: An Introduction to Typography

Upon beginning our exploration into the world of typography- a world into which I have never been introduced to before- David asked us to trace out our names, considering the spacing and placement of letters so that they were equal and correct. This proved more difficult that I initially expected, however after three attempts I feel my work looks reasonably accurate.

We were then given two words on a piece of paper, asked to cut them up and rearrange them so that again, the spacing and placement was perfect. I took more time on this task, as the letters kept moving and it was difficult to decide where the baseline sat through the paper that the letters were printed onto. Upon completion of this task, I feel my spacing is good on both words, and I have a wider understanding of the intricacy and importance of spacing in type.

Leave a Reply

