Animation: Creating my Animation

I took the photos for my animation over the course of a day in one of the editing suites. I was equipped with my storyboard, which laid out a second by second picture of what photos I needed.

storyboard

 

I wanted to show two hands laying a table. First, they would role out the table cloth, which would then lead to the title of the animation flashing up on the screen. I wanted the title to be white writing on a black screen, located in the bottom left corner of the screen. I wanted it to appear similar to what sometimes occurs in crime programmes, when the date and time of an event may appear on the screen before the audience discovers what happens.

Following this, the hands proceed to lay out a cup and saucer, a plate of tarts, a small jug of milk and roses. I watched this through without the flashes and was happy with how my photos had turned out. I used a colour theme of red, white and black, and I adjusted the saturation and contrast slightly before I began, to give my photos a darker, eerie feel.

I then saved my photos from iStopMotion as a photo folder. I selected certain frames at intervals I felt appropriate and edited them on photoshop so that the colours were obviously different to the original photo. I placed these in amongst the original photos on iMovie and adjusted the speed. I originally only allowed the edited frames to appear for 0.1 seconds; the same as the normal frames. However, upon reflection with Wendy, we decided these flash frames were too short and so looked like a glitch or mistake, not giving the audience enough time to fully register what they were. I made these longer and ranged the appearance time between frames, some appearing for 0.2 seconds and some for up to 0.8 seconds.

I found an audio file on youtube of eerie doll-type horror music that I wanted to include in my animation. I feel this really added to the atmosphere of the piece, as I tried to correspond the flashes on the screen to the movement in the music.


<p><a href=”https://vimeo.com/167341683″>KatherineCrean</a&gt; from <a href=”https://vimeo.com/user52405038″>Katherine Crean</a> on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

 

Leave a Reply

