Graphic Design in Harry Potter

Today, I visited the Warner Bros. Studio Tour in Watford with my very excited and Harry Potter obsessed little brother and sister. Aside from the amazing experience that was discovering the methods and technology behind the magic that is Harry Potter, I noticed a beautiful input from talented graphic designers in some of the details of the films.

thumb_IMG_2316_1024thumb_IMG_2313_1024

I came across this golden egg, featured in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. Discovering this ignited new ideas of graphic design for me. Miraphora Mina, the graphic designer being this object, designed a delicate and intricate creation for the decoration of the egg; a job which I would have previously perhaps not associated with graphic design. I would be interested in this area of design, as I feel it combines an element of fine art and graphic – a combination I am very interested in. I like the idea of creating something that is not for commercial use, as graphic design is so quickly categorised nowadays.

thumb_IMG_2370_1024

Leave a Reply

