Workshop: Duotone Experimentation

In preparation for the next three week project, I experimented with colour adaptation on Photoshop. Using photographs of random objects around my bedroom, I tried out different compositions and colours.

Screen Shot 2016-03-06 at 20.10.14

Feeling particularly inspired lately by the new The 1975 album and branding (above image), I began by using a light pink background, aiming to work towards finding out which colour fits best with this.

I really enjoyed adjusting the Colour Balance on these photos to give the different contrasting colours. For my project, I will need to work in duotone and select two colours in order to do so, so this was helpful in visualising which colours work well together.

I then began playing with the composition, adding images and moving things around.

I thoroughly enjoyed experimenting with colour and composition here, and I look forward to further exploring this through my project.

Leave a Reply

