First Things First: Colours and Compositions

In preparation for the group progress presentation I have began making decisions and assembling my poster. After experimenting with colour I decided my favourite variation of my brothers hands is the one below. I originally chose a light pink and light blue and then played around with the duotone settings, exposure, saturation and colour settings. I like the way the blue acts as a highlighter on the foreground of the hands and wrists and the blend of the two colours in the shadow of the hands.

Screen Shot 2016-03-13 at 13.14.00

I then added a background colour and began playing around with the text using grids on InDesign. With the placement of the hands on the poster, I knew I wanted to centre the text anyway, however the 12 column grid I set helped me to align each element of the phrase.

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 18.18.08

The poster below is the one that I took to the group presentation. I was still undecided about the typefaces I found and used, but I was very happy with the word “creators”.

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 21.46.04

After printing my poster out in A2 black and white and A4 colour, I realised that the words “we are the” and “of” needed to be in a much bolder font, as it cannot  be read from far away. The tutors and I agreed that the colours need to be lighter. The poster on a whole is too dark, especially when printed in black and white. We agreed that the words “creators” and “contemporary reality” should be brighter so that the stand out to someone looking at the poster.

The poster below is my updated, final poster. I am very happy with how it turned out and I appreciated the advice from the tutors as the new and improved poster is so much better than the first. I added a small paragraph of text to contextualise the main phrase, set left.

posterrr

Leave a Reply

