BrandWorld: Final Crit

For the final crit, I presented the touch points I created for Taylor-Made Tiers, a family owned wedding cake shop based in Lyme Regis. I experimented with different touch points but finally decided on these five as they were the most appropriate for the brand. Below is the presentation I submit for feedback.

screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-12-58-38screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-12-58-55screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-12-59-03screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-12-59-21screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-12-59-36screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-12-59-53screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-13-00-15screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-13-00-30

On the day of the studio crit, my work was observed and I was given advice from a peer. He said he liked the simplicity of the illustrations, and the colour choice fit the family and seaside appeal. However, he also commented that he feels the colours would probably appeal more to a female audience and is not necessarily attractive to both men and women. He liked how the brand elements were applied to the touch points, though he felt the stationary could be more playful. Below is the research presentation I also submit for feedback. These two presentations went hand in hand to explain not only my final outcomes but what process I went through to get to them, and which avenues I explored.

research234567

I stand by everything I wrote in the reflection of this project. I very much consider myself a beginner in design and I am learning everyday. I am proud of what I achieved in this project, particularly as there were many projects to work on at the same time. I received feedback from Matt and I was incredibly happy with everything he said. Matt noticed that I looked outside of the clients business for inspiration and said this was a very good thing in order to avoid reiterating what has already been done. He said he thought it lacked some character that he thought it might have from looking at my initial sketches. He suggested I make the bunting more playful and rough, drawing it with a crayon, making it thicker and giving it more energy and movement. A line from the experimental stage of the design process caught Matt’s eye; “Getting married? Piece of cake!”. He pointed out how this could expand to other business avenues, for example “unexpected guests at Christmas? Piece of cake!” To quote Matt,

“It’s actually very sophisticated, because in one line, it says to me not only ‘We make cakes’, but also ‘Whatever your problem, cake is the solution’. Instantly, I know what your brand does, and, more importantly, what problems it can solve for me – maybe even problems I didn’t know I had; and it’s done so with eye catching humour.”

He suggested I take a step back and look at the values of loyalty, locality and family. These things imply informality and a sense of friendliness and being at ease.

I agree with what Matt has said and suggested for my work. I like his ideas of making it more informal and playful. I found it difficult to get the balance right – it needed to be an informal family run brand but also sophisticated enough to sell good quality wedding cakes and be a trusted brand. From my research I found that wedding cake shops used mostly ‘expensive colours’, black, gold, silver, etc to elude to expensive cakes and good quality products. It was more commonly cupcake and muffin shops that use brighter colours, potentially to appeal to a younger demographic. I wanted to use colour, to have some informality and include the seaside theme that the client wanted, whilst maintaining the luxury of the brand. To attempt this, I used the brighter colours but used a mix of bold san serif typeface with a calligraphy typeface. For the final submission in June, I will revisit this project and explore some of the changes that Matt suggested.

Leave a Reply

