Morocco: Print Workshop

Today we had a print workshop in which we were introduced to 3 print techniques using fabric: silk painting, painting onto paper and printing onto fabric and dyeing fabric. My favourite was the printing onto fabric, and I feel this came out the best. Once the demonstration was done, we had complete freedom to create whatever we wanted within the size restrictions. I decided to create something using patterns which I imagine I will see in Morocco, reminiscent of henna and the ceramics I have seen in photographs, as well as using elements of the beautiful plants and flowers which thrive in the botanical gardens. I used red and purple paint onto A4 paper, before printing it using the extremely hot machine to transfer the print. I am extremely happy with how it turned out and will definitely return to print in the future in subject. I am excited to see what ideas I have and what I can create after I have been to Morocco and seen the world of colour and pattern there.

img_5444

Leave a Reply

