FMP: Final Reflection

I have definitely found final major project to be a journey with real ups and downs. I really struggled at the beginning with coming up with an idea that I felt was worthy of final major project and had enough ambition to represent me as a designer in the show. Once I got out of my head and settled on a project, I actually really began to enjoy designing and working on one of my favourite types of work – expressive typography.

I think that the outcomes I have produced are a successful answer to my brief and are effective in conveying the message that I wanted to convey. I feel that, with the support of the tutors, tackled issues along the way well and adjusted my work accordingly without sacraficing the overall aesthetic. The biggest change to my work was probably when I had to change my colours, as it would not be possible for the printers to print neon colours. I changed these to pantones, which actually looked almost neon when printed.

Having put up my exhibition, I am proud of what I have designed and I think my space looks great. David was an absolute life saver when it came to hanging my work and it would definitely not have looked anywhere near as good without his help. My space looks better than I thought it would and I am excited for the exhibition to open! I have created work that I am proud of and that I think it worthy of the show, shows ambition and represents me as a designer, and so I have to consider this project a success, for me.

Leave a comment