FMP: Preparing the Space & Hanging Work

Last week we spent preparing the exhibition space ready for work to go up. Luckily I sent my work to print early and so could help to prepare the space most of the week. I knew where my work was going and I am delighted with my spot and can’t wait to get the work up now! It feels so strange to be preparing for my own degree show; it doesn’t feel long ago that I was visiting other degree shows in preparation for applying to university.

With the space all prepped and my work collected from the printers I could begin hanging my work! I had 6 banners (three flat to the wall and three hanging in front) and three books to go on a shelf next to them. The banners have a tendency to curl and so rather than hang them using nails, I attached double sided tape around the perimeter of the banners for them to be stuck to the wall. The three hanging banners have been hung around a bar close to the ceiling and also attached to the ground using fishing wire.

David and Ian were absolute life savers when it came to hanging the show, I think everyone could agree. There is no way we could’ve done it without them and they have dedicated so much time to helping all of us. There is not one single chance in hell I could have stuck those banners to the wall perfectly straight without David!! In fact, Ellen and I did try and fail to hang some of them from the bar, which failed miserably and meant David had to redo our shoddy work! Once again, we are so lucky to have the team that we do, who believe in and feel passionately about our ideas and our vision for our work. I hope they have all had a rest this weekend!!!

I took some photos of my finished exhibition space, as seen below:

KC-LOW-RES-2KC-HIGH-RES-1

I am so proud of my space and I really do love it. I have found this project to be a journey more than any of this year and have had complete highs and lows. There were points where I really didn’t think my space was going to be good at all, and I was really concerned about this project and felt really disappointed in it, but it has all been worth it now. I think my project makes use of the space and (I hope) will attract people to look at it when them come into the space.

Leave a comment